Tue, Sep 15 | ZOOM

I'm Still Here: A Discussion - Week 5

6 Week Discussion and Study with I'm Still Here by Austin Channing Brown
Registration is Closed
I'm Still Here: A Discussion -  Week 5

Time & Location

Sep 15, 2020, 7:00 PM – 8:30 PM EDT
ZOOM

About the event

6 Week Exploration of I'm Still Here .....

Join Zoom Meeting https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85620384068?pwd=TXNEWm5oeWlSNDNoUVhsTnFtaW96dz09

Meeting ID: 856 2038 4068 

Passcode: Unity

One tap mobile +13126266799,,85620384068#,,,,,,0#,,318833# US (Chicago) +16468769923,,85620384068#,,,,,,0#,,318833# US (New York)  Dial by your location         +1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)         +1 646 876 9923 US (New York)         +1 301 715 8592 US (Germantown)         +1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)         +1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)         +1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma) Meeting ID: 856 2038 4068 Passcode: 318833 Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kedM7Q0kcS

This incisive memoir takes a penetrating look at race and the Christian faith while providing tools on how to cope with microaggressions and blatant racism. Brown perfectly and succinctly describes the corrosive weight of white supremacy embedded within American institutions, which African Americans and other people of color endure on a daily basis in schools, professional spaces, and places of worship. Brown's experiences and lifelong exploration of racial understanding and reconciliation offer a modern take on the double consciousness first written about by W.E.B. DuBois. From her days in elementary school, often as the only person of color in the room, to speaking on the national stage, Brown's lessons not only give allies the tools to do better but also provide advice for peers and up-and-comings on navigating hostile workplaces, lecture halls, and hearts and minds. This book is laced with gems that make it necessary reading for everyone, regardless of belief or identity. VERDICT Fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates's Between the World and Me and Reni Eddo-Lodge's Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race will find this candid debut edifying and essential.—Christina Vortia, Hype Lit, Land O'Lakes, FL

Share this event